Back to Posts Paid Sick Leave

Your Paid Sick Leave Guide

By: John Maggs, marketing intern

Being sick is bad enough, but having to use vacation days or worse – take an unpaid absence – can make your employees feel like you’re adding insult to injury. That’s why, many states have or are introducing laws protecting them from lost wages by introducing mandatory paid sick days.

These paid sick days let employees take the necessary time to recover from health issues. But that’s not all, while they may be used to recover from an illness, ‘sick days’ don’t necessarily always mean ‘days that you are sick,’ as some states allow employees to use them for other reasons ranging from a routine doctor visit to seeking legal counsel for matters such as sexual abuse, domestic violence, and stalkers.

But with each state creating their own version of a Sick Time Act, the differences and changes can get confusing.

Not anymore.

We’ve put our best people on the job to scour the internet and create a sort of one-stop shop for all things paid sick.

Listed below are the current states that have adopted sick day policies, along with links to specific information straight from the source. In some instances, specific cities also have regulations in place. They’re included underneath our handy table as links.

As always, we won’t claim to have every detail, so be sure to visit the links for specific information or consult with legal counsel if you have questions. Is there information we’re missing? Let us know by tagging us in a post on Facebook or Tweet at us and we’ll update this blog.

Paid Sick Leave Details by State

State Link Overview
Arizona Earned Paid Sick Time

Effective:

July 1, 2017

· Applies to all employees – temporary, seasonal, part-time

· Employers of under 15 employees must provide 24 hours of paid time off per year

· Employers of 15 or more employees must provide 40 hours of paid time off per year

California Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014

Effective:

July 1, 2015

· Workers must complete 30 days of employment with the same company in the state

· Employers reserve the right to limit paid sick days to 3 days or 24 hours each year

· Unused sick days can be carried over into the next year but can be capped to 6 days or 48 hours

Connecticut Paid Sick Leave Act

Effective:

January 1, 2012

· Applies to employers with 50 or more employees

· Employers must provide 40 hours of paid sick leave per year

Massachusetts Earned Sick Time for Employees

Effective:

July 1, 2015

· Applies to employees with 11 or more employees

· Employers must provide 40 hours of paid sick leave per year

· Workers must complete 90 days of employment with the same company in the state

Oregon Mandatory Provision of Sick Time

Effective:

January 1, 2016

· Applies to employers with 10 or more employees (6 or more for Portland-based operations)

· Employers must provide 40 hours of paid sick leave per year

Vermont Act 69

Effective:

January 1, 2017

· Workers must average 18 hours a week, and must work more than 20 weeks out of the year to be eligible for paid sick days

· Employees must be 18 years or older

· Employers must provide 24 hours each year

· After December 31, 2018 employers must provide 40 hours each year

Washington Paid Sick Leave

Effective:

January 1, 2018

Employees must be 18 years or older to be eligible for paid sick days

· This law is accompanied with an increase in minimum wage to $11

· Employers must provide 40 hours of paid sick leave per year

· Workers must complete 90 days of employment with the same company in the state

· Unused sick days can be carried over into the next year but employers are not required to allow paid sick leave in excess of 40 hours a year

Washington D.C. Employee Sick Leave

Effective:

May 13, 2008

Employers with 100 or more employees must provide one hour of paid leave for every 37 hours worked, not to exceed 7 days

· Employers with 25 – 99 employees must provide one hour of paid leave for every 43 hours worked., not to exceed 5 days

· Employers with 24 or fewer employees must provide one hour of paid leave for every 87 hours worked, not to exceed 3 days

· Workers must complete 90 days of employment with the same company in the state

States with City-Specific Laws

State: City – Specific Regions:
California · Berkley

· Emeryville

· Los Angeles

· Oakland

· San Diego

· San Francisco

· Santa Monica

Illinois · Chicago

· Cook County

Minnesota · Minneapolis

· St. Paul

New Jersey · Bloomfield

· East Orange

· Elizabeth

· Irvington

· Jersey City

· Montclair

· Morristown

· New Brunswick

· Newark

· Passaic

· Paterson

· Plainfield

· Trenton

New York · New York City
Pennsylvania · Philadelphia

· Pittsburgh

Washington · Seattle

· Tacoma